In 1916 a young boy, just three years older than me, was murdered.  He was brutally lynched and burned alive by a mob in Waco, Texas.

When I read the story about Jesse Washington, I felt sick and shocked. I knew people did things like this, but I never knew it was to this extent.  For Black History Month, we learn about people like Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa Parks, and I think that is a good thing, but I also think we should be learning about people like Jesse, and what it was like for them. He was only 17 when he was killed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a photo of Jesse after his death. Here is the link for where I got the photo.

The reason for this post is because in school we are not doing anything for Black History Month, and my mom wanted me to do something. Tomorrow I will be looking at accomplishments.

